1. Introduction
On September 9, 2026, Apple held its "Surprise and Shine" event at Apple Park in Cupertino, marking the first major product launch under new CEO John Ternus, who took over on September 1, 2026. Apple unveiled three new iPhones (iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, and the first foldable iPhone Duo) alongside the Apple Watch Series 12, Apple Watch Ultra 4, and AirPods 5.
This article is a comprehensive specs breakdown sourced directly from Apple's official press releases (apple.com/newsroom), supplemented by third-party reporting where Apple has not yet disclosed specific details. All Apple-confirmed data comes from the official press releases dated September 9, 2026.
Official sources: Apple: Apple debuts iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max and Apple: Apple unveils iPhone Duo. Related: Qwen3.8-27B Architectural Study and GPU Landscape 2026, both from our hardware coverage.
2. iPhone 18 Pro: Official Specifications
2.1. Chipset: A20 Pro
The A20 Pro is the centerpiece of the iPhone 18 Pro and was announced in Apple's official press release. It is Apple's first commercially available 2nm smartphone chip.
| Spec | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Chipset | A20 Pro (2nm) | A20 Pro (2nm) |
| CPU | 6-core | 6-core |
| GPU | 7-core | 7-core |
| Neural Engine | Dual 16-core (32 total) | Dual 16-core (32 total) |
| Memory Bandwidth | 50% more than A19 Pro | 50% more than A19 Pro |
| CPU Performance | Faster than competition | Faster than competition |
| GPU Performance | Up to 40% faster than A19 Pro | Up to 40% faster than A19 Pro |
Apple describes the A20 Pro as delivering "the highest sustained performance in iPhone history" thanks to a new packaging approach inspired by M-series Apple silicon. The silicon die sits side by side with memory (removing memory from the thermal path), allowing A20 Pro to attach directly to a next-generation vapor chamber with three times more surface area than the iPhone 17 Pro's system.
2.2. Camera System
The 48MP Fusion Main camera with variable aperture is Apple's "most advanced camera Apple has ever made," according to the press release. Six laser-cut blades transition between apertures via a new rotor mechanism.
| Spec | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Main Camera | 48MP Fusion, variable aperture | 48MP Fusion, variable aperture |
| Mechanism | 6 laser-cut blades, rotor | 6 laser-cut blades, rotor |
| Telephoto | 48MP, 4x optical | 48MP, 4x optical |
| Ultrawide | 48MP, f/2.2, 13mm, 120 degrees | 48MP, f/2.2, 13mm, 120 degrees |
| LiDAR | TOF 3D | TOF 3D |
| Selfie | 18MP ultrawide, f/1.9, 20mm | 18MP ultrawide, f/1.9, 20mm |
| Video | 4K@24/25/30/60/100/120fps | 4K@24/25/30/60/100/120fps |
| Cinematic Effects | Up to 60fps | Up to 60fps |
| Time-lapse | 4K Dolby Vision HDR | 4K Dolby Vision HDR |
| Pro Controls | Aperture, shutter speed, white balance, histogram | Aperture, shutter speed, white balance, histogram |
The press release confirms manual aperture control with four settings in the Camera app, an API for third-party developers, and a new "Reference Image" mode that captures signed sensor data processed by Private Cloud Compute into an unalterable reference photo for authenticity verification.
2.3. Display
Both models feature a smaller, redesigned Dynamic Island that now shows three Live Activities simultaneously. The Dynamic Island continues to enable Face ID.
| Spec | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Display | Super Retina XDR OLED | Super Retina XDR OLED |
| Dynamic Island | Smaller, 3 Live Activities | Smaller, 3 Live Activities |
| Protection | Ceramic Shield | Ceramic Shield |
| ProMotion | 120Hz | 120Hz |
The press release does not specify the exact diagonal screen sizes or resolutions. GSMArena lists 6.3 inches for the iPhone 18 Pro and 6.9 inches for the Pro Max, but these are not yet confirmed by Apple.
2.4. Battery and Charging
Apple's press release provides battery life numbers but does not specify mAh capacity.
| Spec | iPhone 18 Pro (Nano-SIM) | iPhone 18 Pro (eSIM) | iPhone 18 Pro Max (Nano-SIM) | iPhone 18 Pro Max (eSIM) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Video Playback | Up to 36 hours | Up to 36 hours | Up to 45 hours | Up to 45 hours |
| Usage (Pro Max) | N/A | N/A | Up to 30 hours | N/A |
| Fast Charge | 50% in 15 min wired | 50% in 15 min wired | 50% in 15 min wired | 50% in 15 min wired |
| MagSafe | 50% in 30 min | 50% in 30 min | 50% in 30 min | 50% in 30 min |
| Quick Charge | 5 min wired = 7 hours video | Same | 5 min wired = 7 hours video | Same |
The iPhone 18 Pro Max eSIM-only model delivers "the largest increase in battery life ever on iPhone" thanks to space freed by removing the physical SIM slot.
2.5. Connectivity and Modem
| Spec | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Cellular Modem | C2 (Apple, first-gen) | C2 (Apple, first-gen) |
| Upload Speed | Meaningfully faster than C1X | Meaningfully faster than C1X |
| Power Efficiency | 15% less energy than C1X | 15% less energy than C1X |
| mmWave | Yes, in the U.S. | Yes, in the U.S. |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7 (N1 chip) | Wi-Fi 7 (N1 chip) |
| Bluetooth | 6.0 | 6.0 |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| UWB | Gen 2 | Gen 2 |
| USB-C | 3.2 Gen 2 | 3.2 Gen 2 |
The C2 is Apple's next-generation cellular modem, the first to ship in iPhones. Apple also introduced iPhone Handoff, which allows users to switch between two iPhone models with the same number (T-Mobile in the U.S. and Telekom Germany at launch).
2.6. Build and Colors
| Spec | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Colors | Black, Silver, Glacier, Burgundy | Black, Silver, Glacier, Burgundy |
| Water Resistance | IP68 (6m, 30 min) | IP68 (6m, 30 min) |
The press release does not list exact dimensions or weight for either model. The new color is Burgundy, described as "an all-new burgundy."
2.7. Pricing and Availability
| Model | Storage | Price | Monthly (ACMI) |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro | 256GB | $999 | $41.62 |
| iPhone 18 Pro | 512GB | $1,199 | $49.91 |
| iPhone 18 Pro | 1TB | $1,599 | $66.62 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | 256GB | $1,099 | $45.79 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | 512GB | $1,299 | $54.12 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | 1TB | $1,699 | $70.79 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | 2TB | $1,899 | $79.12 |
Pre-orders: September 12, 2026 at 5:00 AM PT. Availability: September 18, 2026 (Friday). Available in 65+ countries and regions, including the U.S., U.K., and Japan.
Trade-in: iPhone 13 or later gets up to $630 credit. iPhone 14 or later gets up to $830 credit in any condition via carrier partners.
eSIM-only availability: Bahrain, Canada, Guam, Japan, Kuwait, Mexico, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE, U.S., and U.S. Virgin Islands. These models feature a larger battery.
2.8. Software
Both models ship with iOS 27 (free update, available September 14, 2026), featuring Siri AI (beta), Apple Intelligence, Spatial Reframing, Image Playground with photorealistic imagery, and Notify Me in Safari. Siri AI will not be available in the EU on iOS at launch.
3. iPhone Duo: Official Specifications
3.1. The Basics
The iPhone Duo is Apple's first foldable iPhone, described by CEO John Ternus as "the most transformational change to iPhone since the original."
| Spec | iPhone Duo |
|---|---|
| Form Factor | Book-style foldable |
| Inner Display | 7.6-inch (7.58" measured) Super Retina XDR |
| Outer Display | 5.4-inch (5.36" measured) Super Retina XDR |
| Aspect Ratio | Same on both displays |
| Peak Brightness | 3000 nits (both displays) |
| ProMotion | Yes (both displays) |
| Always On | Yes (both displays) |
| Nano-Texture Finish | Yes (inner display) |
| Chipset | A20 Pro (2nm) |
| CPU | 6-core (up to 20% faster than A19 Pro) |
| GPU | 7-core (up to 40% faster than A19 Pro) |
| Neural Engine | Dual 16-core (32 total) |
| RAM / Memory Bandwidth | 50% more than A19 Pro |
| Storage | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB |
| Colors | Star White, Night Sky |
The outer display provides 90 percent of the screen area of iPhone 18 Pro. The inner display is 50 percent larger than iPhone 18 Pro Max.
3.2. Display Engineering
The inner display uses a custom polymer cover layer with up to 40 percent higher stiffness than industry-standard materials, a scratch-resistant coating, a nano-textured finish that minimizes glare and crease visibility, high-strength glass above and below the folding panel, custom adhesives that allow layers to glide like book pages, and a titanium plate for structural reinforcement. The FaceTime camera is hidden beneath the inner display.
3.3. Hinge and Build
| Spec | iPhone Duo |
|---|---|
| Frame Material | Grade 5 titanium, mirror-polished |
| Hinge | 100+ components, precision-engineered |
| Hinge Cover | 3D-printed, micro-blasted finish |
| Front Protection | Ceramic Shield 2 (3x better scratch resistance) |
| Back Protection | Ceramic Shield |
| Water Resistance | IP68 (6m, 30 min) |
| Weight | Not officially disclosed |
| Dimensions | Not officially disclosed |
The press release states iPhone Duo is "the thinnest iPhone ever" when opened. The hinge supports the center of the display to keep it flat when open, and an integrated magnet array provides a "satisfying and secure closure."
3.4. Camera System
| Spec | iPhone Duo |
|---|---|
| Main Camera | 48MP Fusion |
| Ultra Wide | 48MP Fusion |
| Telephoto | Integrated 2x (optical quality) |
| Selfie | 12MP Center Stage |
| Under-display Camera | FaceTime camera (beneath inner display) |
| Video | 4K120fps Dolby Vision on Main camera |
| Cinematic Effects | Up to 60fps |
3.5. Camera-Specific Features
The folding design enables features Apple says are impossible on any other iPhone:
- Smart Take: On-device AI analyzes the scene and automatically captures photos when subjects are posing
- Selfie Preview: Take a selfie with the higher-resolution rear cameras and preview on the outer display
- Duo Preview: Live preview on outer display for framing assistance
- Kid Cue: Peanuts animations on outer display to engage children during photos
- Duo FaceTime: Someone joins the video call on the outer display so everyone shares the moment
- Dual Capture in FaceTime: Simultaneous front and rear camera feeds
3.6. Authentication
iPhone Duo uses Touch ID on the side button and can also be unlocked with an Apple Watch. Face ID is not available.
3.7. Battery and Charging
| Spec | iPhone Duo |
|---|---|
| Architecture | Dual-battery (one per side) |
| Video (inner display) | Up to 31 hours |
| Video (outer display) | Up to 44 hours |
| Usage (equal both displays) | Up to 24 hours |
| Fast Charge | 50% in 20 min wired |
| Wireless | 50% in 30 min (MagSafe/Qi2) |
3.8. Connectivity
| Spec | iPhone Duo |
|---|---|
| SIM | eSIM-only worldwide |
| Cellular Modem | C2 (mmWave in U.S.) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7 (N1 chip) |
| Bluetooth | 6.0 |
| Apple Pencil | USB-C Apple Pencil (coming later this year) |
3.9. iOS 27 for Foldable
iOS 27 is reimagined for the foldable form factor:
- Lock Screen controls and the Dock appear on the side to maximize vertical space
- Open inner display shows two Home Screen pages with Today View on the left
- Status bar has a circular, flexible system that nests into the corner
- Dynamic Island is redesigned to fit vertically on both displays
- Split View allows two apps side by side for the first time on iPhone
- StandBy works on either display even when not charging, with new Calendar and Weather faces
- Netflix, Zoom, and Slack are already optimized for the folding design
3.10. Performance Claims
Apple's press release states iPhone Duo delivers up to 35 percent better sustained performance than iPhone 17 Pro. The 6-core CPU is up to 20 percent faster than A19 Pro, described as "the fastest CPU in a smartphone." The 7-core GPU is up to 40 percent faster and more power efficient.
3.11. Pricing and Availability
| Model | Storage | Price | Monthly (ACMI) |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone Duo | 256GB | $1,599 | $66.62 |
| iPhone Duo | 512GB | $1,799 | $74.95 |
| iPhone Duo | 1TB | $2,199 | $91.62 |
| iPhone Duo | 2TB | $2,399 | $99.95 |
Apple Upgrade leasing: $57.99 to $132.81/month depending on storage and term.
Pre-orders: October 16, 2026 at 5:00 AM PT. Availability: October 23, 2026 (Friday). Available in 70+ countries and regions. Additional 28 countries on October 30.
3.12. Accessories
| Accessory | Price | Colors |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone Duo Folio with Kickstand | $79 | Navy Blue, Taupe |
| iPhone Duo Case | $49 | Sand, Navy Blue |
Both support MagSafe, Qi2 25W, and Qi-certified chargers.
4. Other Products Announced at the Event
4.1. Apple Watch Series 12
The Health Sensing System with redesigned Health app. Front glass is 60 percent tougher.
4.2. Apple Watch Ultra 4
Same front glass upgrade.
4.3. AirPods 5
Higher-tier models have a volume control on the stem.
5. Context and Analysis
5.1. The Variable Aperture Innovation
The iPhone 18 Pro's variable aperture is the first mechanical aperture control Apple has ever put in a phone. The rotor mechanism with six laser-cut blades allows four aperture settings that users can adjust manually in the Camera app. This is a genuinely new capability for smartphones and represents a significant departure from the fixed-aperture approach all smartphone makers have used since the industry adopted camera phones.
For casual photographers, the automatic aperture adjustment should improve low-light shots and group photos. For professionals, the manual control plus histogram display puts the iPhone closer to a dedicated camera in terms of creative control.
5.2. The C2 Modem
The C2 is Apple's first in-house modem, replacing Qualcomm's modem in every iPhone 18 Pro model. Apple claims meaningfully faster uploads and 15 percent less energy than the C1X modem used in prior iPhones. It is also the first iPhone modem to support mmWave outside the U.S. (the press release notes mmWave support in the U.S.).
5.3. Apple Reference Image
The Reference Image feature is arguably the most significant software innovation of the iPhone 18 Pro. When taken in Reference mode, the camera captures signed sensor data that Private Cloud Compute processes into an unalterable reference photo. This acts like a digital negative, allowing users to verify whether a photo has been edited.
This is Apple's answer to the growing need for photo authenticity verification. Combined with SynthID (coming later this year) for AI-generated images, Apple is building a multi-layered approach to proving image provenance.
5.4. The Foldable Strategy
The iPhone Duo enters the foldable market seven years after Samsung's first foldable. The press release confirms this is a book-style foldable (not a clamshell flip phone), with a 7.6-inch inner display and a 5.4-inch outer display that shares the same aspect ratio.
The Touch ID-only approach (no Face ID) is a practical decision for a foldable: Face ID requires reliable frontal cameras on both displays, and Apple appears to have chosen simplicity over biometric consistency. Apple Watch unlock is a clever workaround.
The eSIM-only design worldwide maximizes internal space for batteries. The dual-battery architecture (one battery per display side) with energy-rebalancing algorithms is a novel approach to foldable power management.
5.5. Pricing Comparison
| Device | Starting Price | Storage |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro | $999 | 256GB |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | $1,099 | 256GB |
| iPhone Duo | $1,599 | 256GB |
The iPhone Duo at $1,599 starting is $500 more than the Pro Max but $400 less than some earlier analyst estimates ($2,000 to $2,500 per Ming-Chi Kuo). The base storage is 256GB rather than 128GB, which partially offsets the price.
5.6. Supply Chain Context
According to former Bloomberg reporter Tim Culpan, Apple and its suppliers have been scrambling to secure enough memory chips for the upcoming iPhone lineup. Apple relies on Micron, SK Hynix, and Samsung for DRAM. A Financial Times report claimed Apple is lobbying the U.S. government to allow purchases from Chinese chipmakers ChangXin Memory Technologies and Yangtze Memory Technologies.
This supply constraint could affect initial availability, particularly for high-storage configurations.
6. Conclusion
The iPhone 18 Pro represents Apple's most aggressive iteration of the Pro iPhone form factor in years: variable aperture, a 40 percent faster GPU, 50 percent more memory bandwidth, Apple's first in-house modem (C2), and the groundbreaking Reference Image feature for photo authenticity. The starting price of $999 is a $100 increase over the iPhone 17 Pro, but Apple has absorbed more cost pressure than initially feared.
The iPhone Duo is Apple's first foray into foldables, and the press release reads like a product built with genuine engineering ambition rather than a rushed entry to compete with Samsung. The dual-battery architecture, 100-plus-component hinge, custom polymer display cover, and iOS 27 split-view multitasking all suggest a device that has had the time and resources to mature before launch. The $1,599 starting price and October availability suggest Apple is treating this as a premium launch rather than a volume play.
Whether the iPhone Duo becomes a mainstream product like the original iPhone or stays niche like the Vision Pro remains unknown. But the engineering behind it (especially the crease-minimizing polymer, the titanium hinge structure, and the dual-display iOS redesign) represents genuine innovation that will likely influence the broader smartphone industry.
References
- Apple: Apple debuts iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, Official Apple press release, September 9, 2026
- Apple: Apple unveils iPhone Duo, Official Apple press release, September 9, 2026
- iPhone Duo: Launch, Pricing, What to Expect, MacRumors, MacRumors analysis of pre-event leaks (labeled as unconfirmed where applicable)
- iPhone 18 Pro and Duo Colors Revealed, Mashable, Color confirmation from Mark Gurman/Bloomberg, corroborated by Apple's press release
- iPhone Duo: $2,000 Price, A20 Pro, Apple Pencil, Value Add VC, Value Add VC analysis of pricing strategy
- GSMArena: iPhone 18 Pro Max Specs, Screen size and dimension estimates (not confirmed by Apple)
- iPhone 18 Pro: Everything We Know, MacRumors Roundup, MacRumors pre-event roundup (mixed confirmed/unconfirmed)
- Apple Event September 2026 LIVE Updates, Indian Express, Live event coverage from Apple Park
- As Apple prepares to make a splash, a brief history of foldable phones, Reuters, Reuters market context, September 9, 2026
- iPhone Duo is Apple's First Foldable, Tom's Guide, Tom's Guide pre-event analysis